View Active ThreadsCreate an account on HarderFasterLogin to HarderFaster Information for Promoters Information for Advertisers Search HarderFaster About HarderFaster Link to this Page
[HarderFaster] - Work Hard, Play Harder!
Home | News | What's On | Annual Poll | Photos | Forums | DJs | Features | Music | Venues | Reviews | Links |

Register your name List of Members Frequently Asked Questions Terms of use Search HarderFaster
HarderFaster Forums >> DJing >> Akai APC40 midi controller - making Ableton sexy

 
Author
Pages (4):  1  2  3  [4]   Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Plan9

Registered: Nov 2002
Posts: 33119 - Threads: 843
Location:

Quote:
DMX wrote on 17-11-2009 05:32 PM

Quote:
Matt Dahl wrote on 17-11-2009 10:31 AM

Tis’ a very nice piece of kit indeed but not without some very minor niggles

Having the play / stop/ rec buttons right next to the crossfader is going to lead to a lot of people ending their sets suddenly. I’ve unmapped them completely to make sure it doesn’t happen but it’s not the best solution.



Can't say I've ever used a crossfader in Ableton tbh. Just channel faders.



Likewise

}

char* NextPost()
{

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post18-11-2009 17:51 PM
Plan9 is offline   Click Here to See the Profile for Plan9   Click Here to send a Private Message to  Plan9       Link to this Post   Quote this message in a PM   Reply Quoting Entire Message   Reply Quoting Last Post   
Stakker
Nunk Development is my bidness.

Registered: Sep 2002
Posts: 52963 - Threads: 2190
Location: A North Sea Oil Rig Eating Chicken.



Poll Winner!
2016
Joint Winner
Intellectual

About to get one of these but starting to think it might be a bit limited for the price. Anyone want to convince me otherwise?

stakker.org
Kites - Official Site
Kites on Myspace
Kites on Facebook

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post27-06-2011 14:10 PM
Stakker is offline   Click Here to See the Profile for Stakker  Click Here to See the DJ Page Stakker   Click Here to send a Private Message to  Stakker       Link to this Post   Quote this message in a PM   Reply Quoting Entire Message   Reply Quoting Last Post   
Benton Wells

Registered: Dec 2004
Posts: 23580 - Threads: 534
Location:

you can get a 2nd hand iPad 1 for about £200, and make your own custom touch interfaces, there are some very cool youtubes if you go looking

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post27-06-2011 16:29 PM
Benton Wells is offline   Click Here to See the Profile for Benton Wells   Click Here to send a Private Message to  Benton Wells       Link to this Post   Quote this message in a PM   Reply Quoting Entire Message   Reply Quoting Last Post   
Stakker
Nunk Development is my bidness.

Registered: Sep 2002
Posts: 52963 - Threads: 2190
Location: A North Sea Oil Rig Eating Chicken.



Poll Winner!
2016
Joint Winner
Intellectual

Quote:
Benton Wells wrote on 27-06-2011 04:29 PM

you can get a 2nd hand iPad 1 for about £200, and make your own custom touch interfaces, there are some very cool youtubes if you go looking



Why would I want to do that? Touch screen is hardly a tactile interface.

stakker.org
Kites - Official Site
Kites on Myspace
Kites on Facebook

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post27-06-2011 19:10 PM
Stakker is offline   Click Here to See the Profile for Stakker  Click Here to See the DJ Page Stakker   Click Here to send a Private Message to  Stakker       Link to this Post   Quote this message in a PM   Reply Quoting Entire Message   Reply Quoting Last Post   
voodoobass
a table, mes enfants...

Registered: Sep 2003
Posts: 33898 - Threads: 985
Location: somewhere else

Quote:
Stakker wrote on 27-06-2011 07:10 PM

Quote:
Benton Wells wrote on 27-06-2011 04:29 PM

you can get a 2nd hand iPad 1 for about £200, and make your own custom touch interfaces, there are some very cool youtubes if you go looking



Why would I want to do that? Touch screen is hardly a tactile interface.



yeah but it's made by apple and is shiny.

but yeah, it's VERY hard to be accurate without looking on touch-screen.


Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post27-06-2011 20:56 PM
voodoobass is offline   Click Here to See the Profile for voodoobass  Click Here to See the DJ Page voodoobass   Click Here to send a Private Message to  voodoobass   Click Here to Email voodoobass       Link to this Post   Quote this message in a PM   Reply Quoting Entire Message   Reply Quoting Last Post   
Benton Wells

Registered: Dec 2004
Posts: 23580 - Threads: 534
Location:

Quote:
Stakker wrote on 27-06-2011 07:10 PM

Why would I want to do that?



just throwing some ideas out there

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post27-06-2011 21:07 PM
Benton Wells is offline   Click Here to See the Profile for Benton Wells   Click Here to send a Private Message to  Benton Wells       Link to this Post   Quote this message in a PM   Reply Quoting Entire Message   Reply Quoting Last Post   
voodoobass
a table, mes enfants...

Registered: Sep 2003
Posts: 33898 - Threads: 985
Location: somewhere else

Maschine looks cool - obviously it has its own software but would work for launching ableton clips etc as well.

gotta say all this button-pressing reminds me of when I used to watch my mates playing Tony Hawk on the Playstation, just endless button combos one after the other. Don't really see what makes that better than the 'checking email' stylel of mixing tbh

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post27-06-2011 22:44 PM
voodoobass is offline   Click Here to See the Profile for voodoobass  Click Here to See the DJ Page voodoobass   Click Here to send a Private Message to  voodoobass   Click Here to Email voodoobass       Link to this Post   Quote this message in a PM   Reply Quoting Entire Message   Reply Quoting Last Post   
Stakker
Nunk Development is my bidness.

Registered: Sep 2002
Posts: 52963 - Threads: 2190
Location: A North Sea Oil Rig Eating Chicken.



Poll Winner!
2016
Joint Winner
Intellectual

Quote:
voodoobass wrote on 27-06-2011 10:44 PM

Maschine looks cool - obviously it has its own software but would work for launching ableton clips etc as well.

gotta say all this button-pressing reminds me of when I used to watch my mates playing Tony Hawk on the Playstation, just endless button combos one after the other. Don't really see what makes that better than the 'checking email' stylel of mixing tbh



Yeah, I don't find that video impressive either, who the fuck would do a live gig playing drums with their fingers, nonsense.

The APC I was thinking it might be useful for having the ability to have clips at my fingertips when between tracks, as I load the next track in Reason.

Problem I've already come across is that loading a track in Reason won't boss the Ableton tempo, so I'd be fucked if I forgot to change the master tempo for each track, which is gay.


stakker.org
Kites - Official Site
Kites on Myspace
Kites on Facebook

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post27-06-2011 23:54 PM
Stakker is offline   Click Here to See the Profile for Stakker  Click Here to See the DJ Page Stakker   Click Here to send a Private Message to  Stakker       Link to this Post   Quote this message in a PM   Reply Quoting Entire Message   Reply Quoting Last Post   
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:53:10         Pages (4):  1  2  3  [4]   Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
You may delete your posts
HTML code is OFF
BB Code is ON
Smilies are ON
 

HarderFaster Jump
Bookmark and Share
All trademarks and copyrights on this page are owned by their respective companies. All other content is (c) 2001-2020 HarderFaster.

Terms and Conditions | Privacy Statement | Text Mode